Centre for Research in Young People's Texts and Cultures

Young People's Cultural Commons

This page includes information about the cultural activities available for young people in Manitoba and the organizations that provide them. See the Cultural Programming for Young People Calendar for more details.

Manitoba Cultural Organizations with Programming for Young People

Children's Museum

The Children’s Museum exists to spark kids’ creative learning. As a non-profit charitable organization, the Children's Museum believes in the potential of all children and provide an interactive learning environment that nurtures the power of imagination and spirit of self-discovery.

Contact: Heather Armstrong, Education Coordinator (harmstrong@childrensmuseum.com)

Freeze Frame

Freeze Frame is Manitoba’s Media Arts Centre for Young People. The Centre is a not-for-profit and charitable organization that offers educational and cultural media arts experiences to young people, and holds the International Film Festival for Kids of All Ages each spring.

Contact: Jim Sanders, Artistic Director (jim@freezeframeonline.org)

Manitoba Museum

The Manitoba Museum creates unique, fun opportunities for children to learn about science, history, astronomy, and space. Youth programming includes MuZZeum sleepovers, birthday parties, and day camps, along with school programs for students from Kindergarten to Grade 12.

Contact: Lila Knox, Program Manager, (lknox@manitobamuseum.ca)

Manitoba Theatre for Young People

Manitoba Theatre for Young People has been creating and presenting professional theatre productions for children and families since 1982. Led by Artistic Director Leslee Silverman since its inception, MTYP has grown to become one of the most respected professional theatre companies in Canada, for children or adults.

Contact: Kent Suss, Director of the Theatre School (ksuss@mtyp.ca)

Royal Winnipeg Ballet

The Royal Winnipeg Ballet enriches the human experience by teaching, creating and performing outstanding dance. The RWB School has created varied programming suitable for all levels of interest and experience, from professional career training to casual extracurricular activity – and everything in between.

Contact: Arlene Minkhorst, School Director, (aminkhorst@rwb.org)

Winnipeg Art Gallery

Exhibitions and programs are at the heart of the Winnipeg Art Gallery, and over the years the Gallery has established itself as one of Canada's leading art museums, organizing exhibitions of local, national, and international artists. The WAG strives to engage audiences through unique and innovative educational programming. Family Sunday and Young Weekends offer children art adventures themed to current exhibitions.

Contact: Rachel Baerg, Youth Programming in English (rbaerg@wag.ca)

Contact: Aline Frechette, Youth Programming in French (afrechette@wag.ca)

Winnipeg Public Library - Millennium Library

The Millennium Library's Children's Services and Teen Central are located on the main floor. Children's Services includes a wide range of books to suit young interests, from non-fiction to novels, from first readers to story books and folktales, and Teen Central welcomes youth aged 12-17 to a place they can call their own. The Winnipeg Public Library also hosts numerous events for young people - see their Booked site for more details.

Contact: Tamara Opar, Head of Children’s and Teen Services, Millennium Library (topar@winnipeg.ca)